• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: New to GPO

New to GPO

First track completed 'Reflection' for piano and violin using GPO and Sib 5.
    Haven't really got the hang of using Mod Wheel, more complicated than I thought.
    Anyhow, this piece is part of an album 'Silent Thoughts' which is undergoing its final stage of post-production. It is classical meditation, so sit back, take time out and relax your body and spirit.
    Let me know what you think - don't be too cruel, it's my first attempt.

Listen here:

Central Illinois

Re: New to GPO

Hi and Welcome to the community! You have brought a lovely piece for your first time out. The piano sounds great and you have a nice touch, loved the little descending rippling runs.
    The violin still has a few issues to deal with. IMHO the vibrato was excessive most of the time. The attacks also seemed pretty strong at times, and the volume jumped quickly a few times. I'm not familiar with Sibelius and don't know what editing functions you have with it, but I'm sure there is someone here who could give some advice to help tame the violin a bit.
    This is a really nice piece! Thank you for sharing it, I also liked the function and sound in the Northern Sounds.net player. Good luck with your project. John

Welcome! This is a lovely first post - some very poignant moments. From the technical side of things, you might want to experiment with more legato (in Sib 5, just draw a slur over the notes you want phrased/grouped together). Also, some of the attacks were a bit strong - you can decrease the Velocity, and that should help. Maybe a little more reverb?

I hope you take these as helpful suggestions - it's really a very nice piece.

Look forward to hearing more.

All the best,
    Ron Pearl

some of the attacks were a bit strong - you can decrease the Velocity.