• Register
  • Help

Topic: Midi Keyboard

Share/Bookmark

Midi Keyboard

Hiya,

Im looking at purchasing a midi keyboard for around £350 (im from the Uk) which is about $550 will pay more if it is good though. This would to be used for Garritan Personal Orchestra, needing pitch control and sustain pedal etc, what is a good make/keyboard/electric piano that i could get for that money ? for that price range can you get weighted keys, kind of like a piano ?

Any help would be much appreciated as im a guitarist and dont know much about keyboards.

Thankyou

Ben1982

Re: Midi Keyboard

Hey Ben

I've been searching for a new keyboard as well with hammer feel and 88 keys. So far my mind is steering toward the Studiologic VMK188 Plus Master Controller which the dub as their "flag ship" keyboard. It sells for around $600 or more depending on where you purchase. From what I have seen, Studiologic "Fatar" keyboards are in several price ranges starting at $399 and up. Most of them have the hammer action keyboard. Also, except for M-Audio, I've read Studiologic's hammer action 88 keyboard is used in several other manufactures keyboard. They are made in Italy so maybe you can find one to try at a near by music store.
    Google Studiologic "Fatar" and see what you think.
    Styxx

I had a Fatar keyboard for years and loved it. It was my go to weighted keyboard. So +1 with StudioLogic Fatars.

That being said, I've found that I greatly prefer a semi-weighted keyboard for using GPO and other libraries. In fact, I only use weighted for playing piano parts. YMMV, but I would consider the weighted vs non-weighted issue carefully.

I like the CME UF70 myself. I get everything I need, velocity curves, aftertouch, even a breath controller input. The keyboard isn't perfect (what keyboard is?) but I still really like it.

The Axiom keyboards look pretty tempting, but I've not used one personally.

-Kevin
    We are the music makers, we are the dreamers of dreams …