• Register
  • Help

Topic: Slightly OT: Where do samples load?

Share/Bookmark

Slightly OT: Where do samples load?

When I open a virtual instrument (AU, VST, RTAS, etc.) in Logic, or any DAW, a little thing shows up saying that its loading samples. Where are they loading to(RAM?)? I'm not a computer techie, so I don't know much about anything when it comes to this stuff - but I'm just curious.
    -Keith Fuller

http://keithfullermusic.com
    ---
    iMac Quad i7 * MacBook Pro * Logic Studio 9 * WD 320GB & 1TB Externals@7,200RPM * Presonus Firebox * M-Audio Axiom 25 & Keystation 61 * Rode NT1-A * Epiphone Hollowbody * Fender Amp * KRK Rokit 8's

Re: Slightly OT: Where do samples load?

Yep... RAM

Might be more complicated, especially if you're doing direct-from-disk or something, but for the most part it's just loading samples from hard disk to RAM.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Thats what i thought. whats the benefit of DFD if any?
    -Keith Fuller

http://keithfullermusic.com
    ---
    iMac Quad i7 * MacBook Pro * Logic Studio 9 * WD 320GB & 1TB Externals@7,200RPM * Presonus Firebox * M-Audio Axiom 25 & Keystation 61 * Rode NT1-A * Epiphone Hollowbody * Fender Amp * KRK Rokit 8's

I guess the main benefit is that the sample size can be larger and you don't have to worry about cramming it all onto RAM. It's supposed to be faster too, but I haven't fooled around with it enough myself to really compare.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding