• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Flat and Lifeless

Share/Bookmark

Flat and Lifeless

Hello all,

I am new to orchestration and to GPO2. I am learning a bit about Orchestration and taking it very slowly, literally bar by bar.

I have noticed that my instruments sound flat if not very dry and most like a cheap reed organ.

I want my orchestration to sound more like in cinema, full with depth. Is this all controlled by the after effects such as reverb and pan or am I truly missing something here?

I am just not sure how the hollywood cinema effect is achived, so any advice will be very appreciated.

Cheers
    Mik
    United Kingdom

Re: Flat and Lifeless

Thank you for your reply. So to recap my understanding, the reverb is stripped, probs to give the control over to the user which for me I think means more work. Does the East West Symphonic Orchestra (Plat version) have these reverbs built in so we do not need to worry about the 'Cinematic Hollywood effect'?

If so, I might just upgrade to that... I simply want to score and not worry about post processing...

Have I got this right?
    Ta
    M

Hi, beaumontm

It is mostly reverb that you're missing when you listen to the instruments as you work. We don't hear Anything in real life that doesn't have some reflected sound, reverb, added to it--even when we're sitting in a small room. It sounds totally unnatural to hear things with zero reverb, as we do with soft synths.

Ern has said there are libraries with built in reverb, but that is Much less desirable. The whole point of having dry samples is so we have absolute control of what kind of ambience we want in our recordings. To be locked in to just one reverb--one room size and distance from the instruments, - well, it's a big handicap. It's a simplification in some libraries which hobbles the user.

Trust me, with the right amount of reverb added, you will suddenly be getting closer to what you expected.