• Register
  • Help

Topic: Stylus RMX

Share/Bookmark

Stylus RMX

I'm thinking about buying Stylus RMX.
    Couple of questions though:

- Is there any other similar products out there that would be worth checking out?
    - Is it CPU hungry? (For example compared to Omnisphere)
    - Does it have same kind of principles with the user interface and menus and with modulations? (For example modulations can be made with right click)
    - Are all the pots and sliders automatable?
    - Will there be RMX 2 or something like that, and I should wait for it instead?

Re: Stylus RMX

Let me jump in here 'cause I'm new to Spectrasonics products so you won't get the opinion of a jaded fanboi.
    This thing is AMAZING! I am not new to computer music(9 years on) and I own ALOT of software instruments and FX e.g.- Many NI stuff including Reaktor, all things IK, Addictive Drums, and Ableton Live's non-linear elastic sequencer.

There is nothing out there that compares with RMX for creating custom grooves, even using your existing material. Even my beloved Ableton Live pales by comparison. Keep in mind, I haven't even installed the FIVE Xpander DVD's that came with the package and I'm totally blown away with what I can do already.
    Within moments I can conjure up a crazy-sick, intricate groove and am amazed that the CPU hit is a mere 3-5%!

From my understanding everything within RMX is fully automatable although I'm having controller-specific issues atm.

Spectrasonics just released a free update to 1.7.1 that adds even crazier new features that any another developer would have probably released worthy of a 2.0 sticker price.

Keep in mind, I've only had this for three days so maybe I'm still a bit giddy. (And my wife is not happy with the fact that I haven't left the house)