• Register
  • Help

Topic: VST Performance Questions

Share/Bookmark

VST Performance Questions

Hi all, I poked around the forum a bit and most of the information here is way over my head. I'm a pianist by default - I've done ZERO work with any kind of DAW, MIDI, recording, or rack utilities in the past.

What I do is play for live shows - usually musical theater. I enjoy having 2 keyboards, stacked - one with generic Piano sounds, and the other with presets available for different instruments, so I can layer them (one in each hand) or solo a specific instrument when it's called for, while still playing the piano with my other hand.

I've bought countless hardware synths in the last few years, ending with a Korg X50, which had AMAZING sounds and combinations. However, it was just too impractical for live use; changing patches on that thing took a good 20 seconds, which is time I don't have in the middle of a live-performed song!

I finally decided to get just a dumb MIDI controller keyboard (M-Audio SP88) and to find some VST libraries and a player to go along with it.

I demo'd a version of Forte2.0, which seems PERFECT for live performance using VST's. However, it doesn't come with any, and the ones I've been able to find for free are awful. I need some good orchestral VSTs!

So, I demo'd the Miroslav Philharmonik sounds, and they're perfect.
    But, am I going to be able to use this software with Forte2.0?
    Or do I have to run MP as a standalone player?

I am running all this off an AsusEEE 10" laptop with a touchscreen display so I can hopefully quickly change the active patch on the fly- fairly simple using Forte2.0. Not sure how easy it would be using the Miroslav software.

Can anyone provide any insight to my situation, or make any recommendations on how to best use VST for live performance in this way?

Thanks in advance!
    ~Adam

Re: VST Performance Questions