• Register
  • Help

Topic: Whispers in the wind (Garritan Steinway)

Whispers in the wind (Garritan Steinway)

Hi again. Changing the style i´m sharing now a soft (very soft and retro) pop ballad. There is a section where i tried to emulate a classical 70´s bass.

Central Illinois

Re: Whispers in the wind (Garritan Steinway)

Nice ballad Victor! That's a great melody in the first part and again at the end.
    A very nice way for me to end the day here. Thanks, John

Thanks John for your kind words. I understand that academic music is more apreciated in this forum, but though i am an academic musician too, pop is a genre that i almost never perform, but i love the 70´s pop music (is a great weakness, ok?...). But at the same time, is a great chance to explore and transfer a lot of compositional structures of this music to the piano, like the bass lines (is not easy to perform this rythmics patterns at the same time the right hand is performing harmonies and melody), and i enjoy this "emulations" a lot.

Thanks for your comments,

Very nice playing and an excellent arrangement!

Nice job Victor. To me it has the sound of a piano bar back in the day.
    Producer ~ Sound Engineer ~ Musician

Thanks Davin and Hippie. Hippie, about the "piano bar" sound, your comments makes me remember when i studied with my teacher (a very, very academic, formal and conservative one) and she get annoyned when she saw me playing this kind of music and told me: "Victor, are you playing this cabaret, this piano bar music again?" . Well, in this day she understand that i am too versatile and i play a lot of diferents styles. But i try to do the best with each one, with respect and pleasure.

Really fine rendition and such a lovely piano sound. It
    sounded just like you were playing an acoustic instrument
    with such wonderfully rounded notes and excellent damper

As a classical musician, I, too, am really interested in the