• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 6 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Sample Development - Profitable? YES!

Sample Development - Profitable? YES!

Well, let the flames begin, because I\'m just not agreeing with the \"there\'s no money in sample development\" or \"pirates this and pirates that\" argument.

I can only relate the process of producing sample libraries to programming computer software, which I currently do for a living. It takes me on average of 6 months to write a decent software title. I think based on conversations with sample developers this is a fair amount of time for a decent sample library as well. Even though I know FOR A FACT some libraries have been done in far less time.

I have talked to several sample retail outlets, if a giga library sells on average of 1000 copies over the course of a 2 year duration that is a good selling library. If the developer makes libraries for akai and roland formats, then the potential market goes up dramatically! And I assume Halion compatibility will help the giga platform as well. For now, we\'ll stick with 1000 copies being the goal.

Since the retail market usually dictates around 50% discount to stores and distribution channels, we\'ll focus on potential gross profit for a library. (I\'m sure 50% discount is probably not the case all of the time, since if a store only orders a few copies they may only get 20-40% off the retail price!)

So, if it takes me 6 months to make a library, that comes out to 40 hours a week, 4 weeks a month, 6 months, = 1200 hours. Sure, it may seem longer than 6 months, because I may not really \"work\" every day, some days I may play with the samples, write some music, etc. But the actual editing time will work out to around 1200 hours.

In a business profession everything works out to how much you make PER HOUR for the work you have done. So let\'s look at it from that perspective.