• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: STylus 1.8 - Lag and Poor Performance

Share/Bookmark

STylus 1.8 - Lag and Poor Performance

Hi,

Anyone else seeing poor gui performance in 1.8?
    Longer wait to switch out of the purple splash screen and I have to hit the play button a few times to get it to play, but worse that that, have to hit the STOP button many times ... wait ... more times wait ... ahhh then it finally stops playing.
    Also lagging meters in stylus and in Sonar.

It's bad enough to make me reload my 1.7F OS image if this can't be somehow fixed.

1.7 is slower and a bit more gummy than 1.5 .... but I can live with it for the extras ... but I won't be able to work with 1.8.

Feedback is very welcome. Thank you!

Steve

Re: STylus 1.8 - Lag and Poor Performance

I'm no expert but I've been reading about these issues with Sonar 8 and Stylus and Omnisphere. I have an older version of Sonar. 5PE. And I'm not experiencing any of the difficulties you and others are having.

Not having any difficulties with the updates. Works just like before. Not using Sonar though.

Thank you both for replying.

I restored my 1.7.2F OS image and then tried the update again.
    Results are the same.

I also tried it in Forte' Ensemble as a host and the results are slightly worse than in Sonar.
    When the gui is open 1.8 is using between 94% and 100% CPU and that's with no instruments loaded. Closing the gui ( if it can be closed ... 2 times I had to close Forte' because the Stylus GUI wouldn't respond ) let's the cpu meter ( on Forte' and also task manager ) go back down to an expected low level.

I restored back to 1.7.2F again test in Forte' and still a bit more gummy than 1.5, but CPU meters are about 22% when all 8 channels are loaded and playing, and the GUI is open.

Some machine specs:
    AMD XP 3000+ running at about 2.1 GHz
    MotherBoard Abit NF7S nVidia Chipset
    2GB DDR
    Samples are on a new WDC PATA drive DMA 6

----------