• Register
  • Help

Topic: Thoughts on Samples...see what ya think!

Thoughts on Samples...see what ya think!

Just my two sense,
    I record british esque pop folk music with the piano being a primary force in most of my compositions. I\'ve just recently invested in the GigaStudio platform because I see it as having a great deal of promise...Seeing as I am a college student, I can\'t afford to spend a couple grand on an old steinway upright or comparable substitute...I LOVE MY PIANO SOUND DIRTY...I was so relieved when I heard someone mention the Abbey Road Steinway...that...in my honest opinion...is what I consider to be a truely wonderful sounding instrument..the reason...its organic...it has flaws...it has idiosyncracies that make it stand out...what i don\'t understand...and maybe you sample developers can handle this...why does everyone want their piano\'s sooooo clean??? meaning...its one thing if you are recording classical music...but thing of other genres....take jazz or pop....all of the great albums...their piano\'s are dirty...the sound warm and UNperfect...that...to me is what is so memorable about them...think back to the good ole days of the mellotron...those sounds have stuck around because the have that warm dirty sound...partially because its analog tape...but the point is....clean music isn\'t pleasing or beneficial to music...granted this is just my opinion....but most of the contemporary artists sound like ****....BECAUSE....their sound is too over the top...its too polished and clean...give us some noise....give us a rattle...these aspects paint the tonal landscape...they give us a sense of place within the music...clean music...clean samples for that matter...make us seem like we\'re in a sterile lab somewhere...there\'s no depth...no emotion to it...I am currently looking for the right piano for my recently acquired GigaStudio..and to be honest...the one that I am truely convinced of..as being the most...organic..truely playable sample is.