• Register
  • Help

Topic: Need expert advice with woodwind

Need expert advice with woodwind

Hi there,

I'm brand new to orchestral composing. I still have the new car smell, and I'm struggling with it. I've gone through much of the Principles course, and I'm reading a few other books, but since I'm teaching myself its all pretty dull unless I write my own stuff and try to apply the principles I've learned there.

I wrote a short solo for Duduk. I don't have a good ear so for improvising and composing I split my keyboard up like this: Synth String section on the left, and melodic instrument on the right. Thats how I came up with this piece

I use East West's Duduk and I love thesoundbut you'll notice that while it sounds really pretty in its low to mid register it sounds kind of nasty up high. I liked the melody as it was, and refused to change either the melody or the instrument to clarinet which can handle that upper register much better. I felt that if flutes, opera singers etc can be so piercing in the upper range, yet beautiful, then there must be a composing technique to fix that.

So I replaced the synth strings with the various Garritan string sections, and added some new sections to the piece. I'm new to string arranging, but I gave it my best shot.

Here's the work where it now stands.

As you can see I still couldn't get rid of that sound in the high register. I even tried doubling it with a second duduk playing an octave lower to try and help, but it seems it might have made it worse. It now has a kind of organ quality to it!

I don't want to rewrite the melody so as to not use that high in the register, or change to a different instrument as that would feel like giving up. What do you suggest for this freshman composer?

Re: Need expert advice with woodwind

Hi Kentrel,