• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Not a congratulations thread

Not a congratulations thread

I am not looking for congratulations. The purpose of this thread is to thank the many of you that have helped to keep me going the past few years.

In 1982, I was fresh out of the US Navy and was excited to begin college. I went part time for a few years and had to give it up. Three years ago I decided it was time to try again, so I went back to school full time and hoped for the best.

I graduated yesterday with a BS in Mathematics and am now looking for a teaching job. I know that it doesn't mean much, but I did this with a GPA of 3.9.

The reason I am sharing this is because some here know that I have been in school, but many do not know that this site has been about my only social outlet. Between work, school and studying, I had no time for an outside life, so the only socializing I did was here and I want to thank you all for helping me to stay sane.

So to all, a big heartfelt Thank you!

"Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." Albert Einstein

Re: Not a congratulations thread

"... thank you all for helping me to stay sane..."

OH no! THIS is your version of sanity?!?!-Then we're all failures here! ARrrrrrrgh!

Ron - Congrats. Big ones.

Whether you want 'em or not -- congratulations, Ron.

I've been aware of your circumstances, of course; and
    to me, having the grit to get in there and do the work
    (and pull out a 3.9, no less) -- now, that's impressive.
    No stranger to mathematics, I might mention that
    that does takes just a bit of mental horsepower, too.

A bow in your direction, Ron, and most definitely a...

All my best,

David Sosnowski

Well, I certainly hope this turns into a congratulations thread.

I had no idea about your circumstances, but you worked hard and have accomplished a great deal. You should be proud! All my best as you look for a teaching job!