• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Topic: Some questions on string libs legato

Share/Bookmark

Some questions on string libs legato

Hello all,
    There are some questions I've been pondering, and thought this was probably the place to ask it, though it might have asked to death...
    First of all I'm looking after a string library that has nice legato sounds - I've been looking at VSL appasionata, and though I'm sure it would cover all my needs, the price is a bit spicey considering I'm only a hobbyist. So, I've been looking at PS' String Essentials, and although the demos sound nice, I can't really tell how it handles legato - are any of you using this library and can tell me how it sounds and works?
    also, are there any other string libraries with nice sounding legato, that anyone can recommend?

oh, and does anyone know if there's modwheel control of the tremolo of the timpani in Truestrike?

Re: Some questions on string libs legato

Ken,

I own EW Gold Pro XP, VSL Special Edition and Appasionata strings. I know you don't want to hear this but nothing IMHO beats VSL for legato. You may want to look at Kirk Hunter's offerings. Lovely sound and so reasonably priced. I love my VSL stuff and even though I paid a lot for it it is worth the extar money. As they say "The poor man pays twice" I pay 3-4 times before I get it right!

Good luck on your search (that's half the fun!)

Darren
    www.darrenpasdernick.com
    "Every time you play a wrong note God kills a kitten."

For me, the predominant factor in the libraries I use is when I play is does it pretty much sound the way I am ultimately going to want it to sound and does the sound inspire me. While they make fine libraries that certainly can be manipulated to sound as you like, for me the VSL stuff does not meet that criteria.

If you feel as I do, then I recommend Kirk Hunter's Ruby Strings or Sonic Implant Strings.
    Composer, Logic Certified Trainer, Level 2,