• Register
  • Help

Topic: Loops, Jingles, Stingers, Legal To Use ??

Share/Bookmark

Loops, Jingles, Stingers, Legal To Use ??

Hi to all musicians,

I recently purchased a Macbook PC and along with all the other software applications came GaragBands 09 DAW. Now! Be patient I'm new to this so I need to know. Are the loops, jingles, stingers etc in GaragBand or any DAWs legal to use in you own music compositions ? eg. One loop I sampled sounded great but felt it needed a piano part adding to it, so if I was to add a piano part to that loop could i then call this my own compostion and even sell it for retail ? would this be is classed as my own work legally ?
    Music.. the many characters of how God speaks to us all

Re: Loops, Jingles, Stingers, Legal To Use ??

In Apple's own words (link to Apple's support knowledge-base):

you can make commercial music with GarageBand, you just can't distribute the loops as loops.

Not sure I understand what you're asking, but if you're just adding a piano part to one of their loops and reselling it as a loop, I think that would be too much of a "derivative work" for you to be able to resell it.
    Sean Patrick Hannifin
    My MP3s | My Melody Generator | my album
    "serious music" ... as if the rest of us are just kidding

Quote Originally Posted by SeanHannifin View Post
    ...if you're just adding a piano part to one of their loops and reselling it as a loop, I think that would be too much of a "derivative work" for you to be able to resell it...
    Thank you, Sean - That's what I was indicating in my short response earlier. How could someone even Want to claim something as an original work when all they've done is add another layer to a pre-exisiting loop--?