• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Brass Choral, critisism requested

Share/Bookmark

Brass Choral, critisism requested

Hello everybody,

I am new to everything. This forum, composing, my new Mac (used Windows before) Logic and my sampler.

Last month I have given myself a task in order to figure out my new system; write a short choral for a brass ensemble (how hard can it be?...ahum!) By now I have lost all my objectiveness.
    I am not satisfied but I can no longer judge what to change.
    I would really like you sharp eared composers out there to give me some feedback.

Technical; stereo field, depth, reverb, compression, articulations ect. Artistical; ok I know I should do the orchestration course and I sure will,
    or anything that comes to mind.

I hope this link works because I'm also new at box.net

http://www.box.net/shared/nyyus2ia4m

I thank you all very much if you could spare a minute.
    Greetings,
    Joost

Re: Brass Choral, critisism requested

Can you state which instruments are to what library? (especially GPO)

Dan.
    Trumpet, cornet, flugel player. Composer and student.

Gday Joost,

This is beautifully melodic music. What could be timpani rolls somewhere in the middle is rather muffled and muddy. Leave it for a week or two and than listen to it again.

Best wishes,

Herbert
    GPO, JABB, CMB, GWI, GOFRILLER, HALION PLAYER, ACCORDIONS by E Tarilonte
    Cubase 6, Notation Composer, VSTHost, GoldWave audio editor.

Interests:
    Good Food, Gemütlichkeit, Wein Weib und Gesang – History, Politics, Civil Law –
    Electronics, Software Development, Physics – Plant Physiology, Creative Horticulture –
    Photography, Painting, Wood Working - Midi Orchestration, Music, Music, und Musik …

Hello Dan,

From GPO I've used :FHorn Overlay f
    French Horn (which I pass for Alto Horn)
    Tbone Overlay
    Tenor Tbone
    Tpt Overlay
    Tuba 2 Solo