• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: WILL THESE WORK TOGETHER??? (recording eq.)

Share/Bookmark

Red face WILL THESE WORK TOGETHER??? (recording eq.)

Hi,

Ive been trying to get hold of decent yet affordable recording hardware so that i can add some live tracks to my compositions.
    But heres the thing..... i have NO experience in recording (except using my PC's Mic input with a bad PC microphone)

(((I should make it clear that i will mainly be recording Brass instruments)))

So i've been looking and ive found some affordable hardware.

http://www.soundslive.co.uk/product~...0C~ID~6421.asp

&

http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com...sku=271241#new

Heres a few questions:

1. Can these two items be used together?

2. Is there any additional hardware (cables ect.) that i need for these to work together?

3. Is the microphone suitable for brass instruments?

4. Could you explain 'Phantom power'? (i've never understood this)

If anyone can help or redirect me to somewhere that may be able to help then i will be very greatful.

Thanks,

Dan.
    Trumpet, cornet, flugel player. Composer and student.

Re: WILL THESE WORK TOGETHER??? (recording eq.)

I am no studio engineer, but I have done some work in studios and have my own mini studio in my home.

You have picked a very nice condenser microphone which requires phantom power. However, the mixing board you have selected does not. You can get a phantom power supply to connect in-line between the microphone and the mixer but I have never done that.