• Register
  • Help

Topic: Giga vs the "real" world

Share/Bookmark

Giga vs the \"real\" world

I had an argument with one of my friends who thinks that my efforts towards the Giga platform are not very useful, in terms of realism. The main point of the argument was that he thinks music produced Giga libraries sounds too fake. (We were talking about orchestral \"classical\" samples). This is clearly not the case in my mind, but I would still like to convince him.

I do not have any demos of my own ready yet, since I am new to this world, and I am not sure my first attempts will be that good. But I am sure someone out there has demos that compares the real thing to Giga. So I am looking for something recorded live to compare with something produced with Giga. It would be fun to fool him...

Anybody?

Re: Giga vs the \"real\" world

Go to mp3.com and type in Antonio Genovino. Click on his name next and when you get to his site, download a track called \"Music for Cartoons\" and Mozarts \"Overture\". It is frightening how real it sounds and how brilliant his orchestration is.

[This message has been edited by Damon (edited 11-01-2001).]

I am probably going to get flamed for this but:

Wouldn\'t your conversation with your buddy be more relevant if it was about using GS to create good music as opposed to realistic music. I take it as fact \"real\" instruments have much more depth, control,etc. than a sampler - that is they are not snapshots of a performance being manipulated. However, the point is about making great music. And so, the question becomes can you make great music with a sampler.

Yes, many of the libraries are getting very sophisticated so they can go after that \"is it live or is it memorex\" nirvana. And I believe you will be able to fool some of the people all the time.