• Register
  • Help

Topic: Compression/Drum Samples

Compression/Drum Samples

Hello all,
    Could someone please help me with an problem im trying to solve. Im desperately trying to get a very authentic \"compressed\" analog tape sound for my drums. My ideal sound is any track off Revolver or Sgt. Pepper\'s...a very hyper compressed Ringo Star sound. Does anyone know of compression plug-ins or analog tape plug-ins that will get me this sound? Im a complete novice when it comes to recording & processing...so any help shall be greatly appreciated.

Re: Compression/Drum Samples

You\'ll have to capture the audio from giga to an audio track in your sequencer to add the compression since there is no compressor plug ins for giga at this time. You should also seperate each drum in it\'s own channel. snare, bass, toms, cymbals. What sequencer are you using? Some come with compression plug ins.

Sonic Foundry\'s Acoustic Modelor has a tape \"odel\" that works good...sometimes...

for compression, the waves bundle will give you a good compressor and limiter.

You will want to get some room/overhead sound for getting that \"lucy in the sky\" sound. then compress it really heavily with a short attack and a not so fast but not too slow release.

Of course EQ plays a big prt as well, there is a lot of chain soundon the snare, you might wnat to track teh same snare twice, pitched up and down a few semitones, this way you can EQ one for the snare chain sound, and one for the resonance.

Then of course, pan the suckker to the left

I\'m not a total Beatlemaniac ... in fact I dont own one album....I think I have to change that...but anyhow, you might want to look into resources of hwo the recordings/icing was done and try and mimic it with EQ/reverbs/compressionplug ins

Really...I am an Idiot