• Register
  • Help

Topic: Round Midnight

Round Midnight

Hello Everyone,

This is my first attempt using JABB. The midi file was prepared by Jan Halsema, who is an excellent alto saxophonist, and modified by me. Jan played the trumpet solo using an Electronic Wind Instrument.

The electric piano is from the Roland TTS 1 and the rest of the instruments are from JABB and GPO.

Any suggestions and comments would be gratefully received.

Best wishes,

Re: Round Midnight

Very nice, very relaxing. I think you may want to raise the volume of the accompaniment; seems a bit quiet. The solo is beautiful and overall the work plays very professionally.

Great job!

"...Wiktor's a Jekyll-Hyde personality..." - Lycos Music

Very nice presentation of this standard jazz classic. The
    electronic wind instrument brings a lot of realism to this
    stage and is a definite plus for interpreting this kind of music.
    The solo instruments stand out very well, but Michael's suggestion
    of raising the accompaniment (just a pinch, not too much) might
    increase the "live" environment a little. Maybe not, but that's your

Thought the ending was a little abrupt.

Great job on this Albert. Really great solos.

Jack Cannon--Toshiba laptop, 2.8 GHz CPU, 1.5 GB RAM, GPO4-JABB3-Auth. STEINWAY-Gofriller CELLO-Stradivari VIOLIN-COMB2-WORLD, FINALE 2009/11, RME Digiface, Cardbus, V-Stack---Mac Pro 2.66 GHz CPU, 8 GB RAM, DP 8, MOTU Traveler, MOTU Micro Express.--MacBook Pro 2.2 Ghz CPU, 8 GB RAM.

Fabulous, Albert! - You have to be excited by the results you got--So smart to have Jan play the Trumpet via an EWI - Isn't that just a spectacular result? Yes indeed it is!

Tossing in my agreement that the rest of the instruments could come up a bit. And I feel the strings have a bit of the "keyboardist playing chords with a string patch" feel to them - meaning they could be helped with some detail work.

But - I loved what I heard - Thanks!

Suburban NYC

Hey, Gypsy,