Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Topic: Please recommend me a (200$ or less) sound card

Share/Bookmark

Please recommend me a (200$ or less) sound card

So I'm interested in getting either GPO4 or EWQLSO, with the following PC:
    - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ 2.21 GHZ
    - 4 GB Ram
    - Integrated sound card

Assuming the rest of my computer is fine (is it?), the obvious upgrade is the sound card. It needs to have ASIO drivers for low latency with MIDI keyboard (hooked up via USB). That is really my only need.

I don't do ANY real-world recording, only samples, and I know next to zero knowledge when it comes to music production, so it'll have to be easy to set up.

It would be nice to have an external one, just to make it easier to setup and to save me the trouble of putting it in, but I don't have firewire. I'm just an amateur looking for basic functionality... is USB really that bad? If you do recommend a firewire one then please link me a cheap PCI firewire port card as well.

For internal cards, how are the Creative X-fis? I've heard they're bad for music production, but yet I have a few friends that use them and they seem to think they're alright. Again, I'm only an amateur, not a professional audiophile.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Please recommend me a (200$ or less) sound card

Stay away from soundblasters. They work in some machines but not all.

In one of my machines I use a delta 66. It is an internal PCI card with a break out box. With that card I had to have a headphone amp as well, so make sure whatever you get will run everything you want. I also have to use a preamp for my microphone.

In my new machine I use a M-audio Fast Track Pro. It is right around $200 and does not need any amps. It is USB and I have no latency problems at all. It also provides Phantom Power for mics that need it.

Also search the threads here for tons of posts like this one.

Ron
    "Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." Albert Einstein