• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT - Questions for Notation Software Users

OT - Questions for Notation Software Users

Hello -

As mentioned in many past posts here, I use sequencing software when composing. I've been sequencing for over 2 decades now. Because of this, I'm quite comfortable with using sequencing software. I have a few different kinds of sequencing software, actually, including Apples Logic Pro (as well as the older version of EMagic's Logic), Cakewalk's Sonar (and older versions software), and Steinberg's Cubase.

However, I've also owned the Finale notation program for many years as well; owned various version of Finale since 1998. The only times I use Finale are for simple church music & choral arrangements, and for new Too Live Nurse vocal arrangements. I've never used Finale for any kind of large orchestral composition/arrangement, though.

Well, I would like to begin creating clearer notated music of my modest orchestral compositions. I hope to, someday, submit these orchestral compositions to various targeted orchestras (college orchestras, regional orchestras, etc.). (It's my middle age crisis at work, here. I actually hope to hear one of my orchestral compositions performed by a real orchestra sometime before I die. LOL! )

So. . . I started using Finale 2009 (the latest version of Finale that I own) for a new piece that I am writing.