• Register
  • Help

Topic: Complete Newbie to this program!

Complete Newbie to this program!

Hey there,

So this isnt my first VST....I use EZ Drummer + all the expansions, and before i got GPO, i was using NI Bandstand to compose strings and the like for my recordings.

This software is a little more complicated than i thought...What i am used to doing, is importing a midi track that i created using guitar pro 5 (with all the instruments in there) and having the VST auto detect which instrument it is, and loading everything on its own..

here are the problems i am have:
    - im not sure how to upload midi files to the stand alone version
    - Im not sure how to make it auto detect instruments from the midi file (if at all possible)
    -Im not sure how to play more than one instrument at a time...i load up more than one instrument, but only one plays at a time.

how do you guys compose files with out the use of a MIDI instrument?

thanks for all your help, i appreciate it!

Re: Complete Newbie to this program!

Hi, Marc

There are some confusing things in your post, but I'll try to answer you. You said you've used VSTs, but then you ask how to use the stand alone Aria. VSTs are software synths used inside audio/MIDI programs, sequencers like Sonar. Guitar Pro is in that category, but I've never used it - apparently it can import VST instruments? If so--that's how you'll need to use GPO4.

Bandstand that you've been using is a General MIDI sound module. That means it has a standard set of sounds which are the same list as any GM module. GM was developed so people could easily share MIDI files and be sure that everyone's hearing the instruments intended - so they do indeed auto-load. The programming of which instrument should be in each MIDI tracks is part of the file.