• Register
  • Help

Topic: Why doesn't sustain pedal work with certain instruments?

Share/Bookmark

Why doesn't sustain pedal work with certain instruments?

Hello everyone

I'm new to GPO 4 and wondering why my sustain pedal doesn't work with, says, the full strings patch. I see the lit icon of my sustain pedal and it works fine with something like the piano, but on the strings it doesn't take effect.

I checked the manual, but couldn't find anything, so now I'm here.

Is this a GPO "realism" thing that they won't allow me to use my sustain pedal? I rely on the sustain pedal heavily to craft performances and would love to be able to use it - can someone please take a second to address this?

- Jeffrey

Re: Why doesn't sustain pedal work with certain instruments?

Ok, did a search and found this thread

http://www.northernsounds.com/forum/...ad.php?t=68261

I was using the STANDARD instruments, not the NOTATION instruments. The NOTATION instruments work fine for me with the sustain pedal.

Wish the manual was more clear! Also, shouldn't NOTATION be more realistic for writing scores and not STANDARD? Seems backwards..

But AWESOME sounds and amazing price! Thank you GARY! You are the best

Whoops...looks like I ran into a separate problem (although I don't wish to start a new thread).

AMBIENCE does not respond in the ARIA player....I can start an instance of AMBIENCE from within Logic as an effect, but all I get is one setting and no presets.

Why does ARIA not respond and AMBIENCE not kick in when I click or unclick it in the EFFECTS column? This doesn't seem to be tied to STANDARD or NOTATION instruments or even within instruments, but is universal right now..

Did AMBIENCE not install correctly or is this a bug when using Logic Pro 6?

- Jeffrey

OK, I'm dumb - I needed to adjust the SEND knobs for the instrument.

Hopefully this thread will help other dufuses like me who just want to get to playing without paying enough attention to common sense.

Cheers!