• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Why is my brain doing this to me?

Share/Bookmark

Why is my brain doing this to me?

I have been playing keys in bands for 16 years now. When Van Halen released "Right Now", it was about all I could do at my skill level at the time to learn it. However, I did learn it and it became 2nd nature after a while. I played it in a band for a few years and I can only remember one night, when I really flubbed it and once I had flubbed it once, I was always afraid of it happening again. It's been many years since I played it in a band and I recently started playing it again, at home, just as a review piece sort of.

It took a few seconds and there it was, back again. I was just cruising through those 16th notes nice and steady. And then, I started to think, as I was playing; What am I playing? I never really looked at the right hand once I got the muscle memory down years ago. I always looked towards my left to make the octaved jumps from D to Bb. As soon as I looked at my right hand, to sort of visualize the pattern I was playing, I screwed up. So then I decide to sit there and one by one, pick out the notes, play it in 1/4 tempo or something like that. I couldnt do it. I could for the first twelve notes but then I'd get screwed up right at the end. I had NO conscience idea of what I had been playing for all these years. Everytime I played it, it was all muscle memory. Total auto-pilot. I finally actually had to open Cubase and record it at regular speed on auto pilot and then look back at the midi editor to figure the last 4 notes of the 16 note pattern. What the heck is all that about? Now that I know what it is, I almost want to be able to build it back up at slow speed to where I understand it as well as being able to play it. Does this make sense? Does anyone have any suggestions, as a player, how to deal with this or is this just referred to as old age? Lol.

Re: Why is my brain doing this to me?