• Register
  • Help

Topic: GPO4 and Reaper Sequencer...

Share/Bookmark

GPO4 and Reaper Sequencer...

I downloaded Reaper and am thinking of purchasing it. Is it a good sequencer? I am new to sequencer's so do not know much about them.

The problem I am having is that there is a slight delay from when I press a key on the midi keyboard to the time it plays a GPO4 sound in Reaper. Anyway to fix this?

Thanks,
    Preston

Re: GPO4 and Reaper Sequencer...

Hi,

What you described is known as 'latency'. It will appear in any sequencer/DAW - it's not a Reaper issue per se.

It depends on your soundcard. It hopefully has an ASIO driver. If so, go to options\preferences\audio\device...make sure you have an ASIO driver selected.

If your soundcard supports an ASIO driver, there should be one listed there.

Hopefully that gets rid of unnecessary latency.

What is your soundcard?
    Steve Milward
    Cubase 5.1/GPO4/Trilogy/Saxlab/Halion 2/Groove Agent 2/Many Soft Synths/SM58
    http://www.milward.org.uk/music

Thank you Steve. I am using a M-Audio Fast Track Ultra, and, it does support Asio. Right now what is selected in Reaper is something called WaveSound. I will change it and give it a try.

I am using the trial version of Reaper but for the price I am thinking of buying it. It has a great price. Is it a good sequencer?

You should find a big change when you use the ASIO driver. If you can, set the latency to as low as you can without introducing pops and crackles.

Reaper has many fans - read the review at http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jun0...les/reaper.htm. It rather depends on what you want to do - record MIDI/Audio, have extensive or limited effects etc. Some DAWs come with their own synths. I use Cubase 5, which is an advanced DAW and may be too over-the-top for your needs. For the money, Reaper has few equals.
    Steve Milward
    Cubase 5.1/GPO4/Trilogy/Saxlab/Halion 2/Groove Agent 2/Many Soft Synths/SM58
    http://www.milward.org.uk/music