• Register
  • Help

Topic: Doubling the cello

Doubling the cello

In my score for the music theater, I have two cellos. Sometimes, they play separte parts. Sometimes, they play in unison. I have a number of solo strings libraries. Only one of them has more than one cello instrument -- and I don't care for the way it sounds when two of them double on a part. To me, it seems like two cellos playing in unison, in real life, don't sound like this.

But I'm not an expert. I don't completely trust my judgement on this. I can't afford to buy any more sample libraries at this point. So, I'm wondering, of the following sample libraries, which combination would give me the most realistic sound?

Dan Dean Solo strings advanced. These are the strings I use all the time, for most pieces. I wish they had sampled a second cello, the way that they did for the second violin. Just using the same cello instrumet twice doesn't seem to do much but increase the volume. If I double the normal version of the arco and sp instruments with the short attack versions, it sounds muddy at times. If I double the same instrument and turn off cloaking on only one of them, it sounds the most realistic to me.

I have Kirk Hunter solo strings (original version, converted from giga format for Kontakt 2). It appears that all the samples come from a single instrument. It has a lot of character. Too much, in fact, in most cases. I find that I can double the DD cello trem with the KH version, if I decrease the volume quite a bit on the latter. It almost sounds like 3 or more cellos playing. I like it, but I don't know if two real trem cellos sound like this. (I also use the DD pizz cello sometimes, if I want a more substantial sound and the cello is playing the bass line. And I use all the string bass samples from this library quite a bit. But I never double these.)