• Register
  • Help

Topic: Contemplating Rainy Days in Lovell, Maine

Contemplating Rainy Days in Lovell, Maine

I have been working on this one for about the last month and although it is not finished yet, I thought I would post it and see if I could get any feedback on it. The ending is just tacked on as I think the piece has a way to go before it is over and there is one transistion that still isn't right at all, but I am working on it.

This piece uses some techniques that I have never tried before.

I used a chorus effect on all of the individual string's tracks to try to get a fuller sound.

I also used 5 different patches on each of the strings (except for the Violas). I used the KS patches, all of the Player patches, and added the lush patches in certain areas.

So I have 2 full instances of Aria working this one.

The piece can be found here

And here

Any feedback on the techniques used will be appreciated.

"Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one." Albert Einstein

Re: Contemplating Rainy Days in Lovell, Maine

those are some pretty violent rainy days.

gotta say, the strings sound great. much more "real".

interesting piece, although maybe a TINY bit repetitive at the beginning (that loud part).

I love the mood of the next slower/softer section. lovely blend of instruments.

if I were going to suggest something, it MIGHT be a tiny bit more contrast between sparse/lush and soft/loud. although, since this is a recent and unfinished piece, maybe it is an aspect you could revisit in future.

of you pieces, I like this piece, so far, best. it's a bit more interesting harmonically for me. (great final cadence, by the way)

Since this is still a work in progress I will say that I still have to tweak some sections. I agree that the 2nd stating of the first motif definitely needs some variation and it will be done both in notes used and with instrumentation.