• Register
  • Help

Topic: Attempt to write a symphonic march

Attempt to write a symphonic march

Hello people,

I'm new with using GPO. I just bought it today. I'm exploring this library.

I'm only an amateur in writing symphonic music or recreating symphonic pieces written by masters. I'll share some of my works one by one. Be patient.

For now here is a symphonic march I'm currently writing while trying to respect the writing rules of a march. There's only the introduction and the first theme. I'm still searching for other themes. I'm working with Logic 9 on a MacPro with an Apogee Duet audio interface.

Here is the file:
    Marche n°1 maquette.mp3

It's not rendered with GPO but with several other libraries like Jam Pack Symphony Orchestra, Miroslav, VSL etc. This version is only a preview of how it should sound.

As I'm not a pro composer but only an amateur, I might broken some rules. So, any advice or comments would be welcome.

There is no spoon.

Re: Attempt to write a symphonic march

Truth first: I'm not into marches. I can hear one per month, but then I'm saturated...

Ok, your march is a real march and sounds fine. The sound is a bit thin, and the trills are awkward, but I think that GPO can help you get a much richer and more dynamic sound. It will take some time to learn the basics, but once you know them, they're pretty useful.

With respect to your composition: it's a good melody for a march, rythm's fine too, arrangement is as good as it can be (to my ears), but it definitely needs some modulation or other harmonic progression.

I can recommend you to download a score of something you like or admire (perhaps something by Sousa, that you can get here), and then sequence it with GPO. For me that was a good learning experience. You'll see how such a composer gets his sound and what he does to the melodies, how he treats counterpoint, harmony, etc.

Hoping to hear more from you (even marches )...

And welcome to the forum!