• Register
  • Help

Topic: Questions I have after reading introduction

Questions I have after reading introduction

Hi All,

Thx again for this wonderful course.

I'm a pianist synth and keyboard player and can read music and chords, so I know some music basics... And as I've always been obsessed with music since I was a kid I think I will do fine If I persevere :-)

- How do you best study a clef that is unknown to you ? I was thinking about training software were they popup a note and you have to guess ... I had good results with em. just curious what other methods people use, excercises or transcribing a known clef to one that is alien to you might work as well I guess ?

- I don't have GPO but I do own an akai S5000 sampler with Peter Siedlaczek Advanced orchestra 5 cd set. I think I will be able to reproduce the excercises with this ?

- In the introduction they talk about studying full scores and start with the most easiest ones, and to study modern scores. put in time I wanted to study scores on :
    - Vangelis & Isao Tomita soundtracks (I have a lot of vintage synthesizers and love electronic music from the 70's 80's )
    - Maurice Jarre (Lawrence of Arabia soundtrack...)
    - Basil Poledouris (Sountrack conan the barbarian)
    - Ryuchi Sakamoto ( for instance the merry Xmas mr Laurence soundtrack/Forbidden colours)

But I guess those are not too simple , I did manage to reproduce a lot of the blade runner (vangelis)soundtracks though, I have my obsession and passion to thank for that I guess ;-).
    Which scores would be more simple ?

Do they also mean you need to have the full score on paper when studying it ? Cause I'm the auditive type of learner, I can almost reproduce everything when hearing it (except for very technical stuff like bach and chopin ;-) of course ) .
    If I need it on paper, where would I buy a full score ???