• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: New Giga User AO or sperate collections ?

Share/Bookmark

New Giga User AO or sperate collections ?

I am new to Gigsstudio. I have the software,
    (still waiting on the soundcard). I want to make beautiful classical music. I have been lurking for a while here and was going to get AO as my starter set, but lately I have not seen it recommended very much.

I am curious, if you were just starting out and had only ~$1000 to spend would you choose AO or some other combination ?

Thanks in advance,
    Dan

Re: New Giga User AO or sperate collections ?

For strings, AO is not your best bet. For 1000 bucks wait till Gigastrings comes out (www.gigastrings.com for demos). It is a 16 CD set entirely made up of strings. It will sell for $1399.00, but if you pre-order now, you can get it for $999.00.
    There are decent brass and good woodwinds on AO however.
    Unfortunately, if you want good orchestral sounds you have to buy the seperate libraries for acheiving the best results.
    1. Gigastrings.
    2. Quantum Leap Brass or Dan Dean Solo Brass
    3. Dan Dean Woodwinds, AO woodwinds, or Miroslav woodwinds
    4. Ultimate Orchestral Percussion
    5. Malmsjo Acoustic Grand Piano
    It\'s a whooooole lot of dough, but these are the best libraries available at the moment for orchestral stuff.
    AO is a good all-in-one orchestral package but after a while you will not be satisfied with the strings.
    Just my 2 cents. Hope that helps.

Thanks for the reply. Unfortuantely, your advice would push me into the stratosphere in terms of cost. I was only planning to spend ~$1000 initally.

I may have to go with AO plus Malmsjo Piano for now and get the Gigastrings later once my Gigsstudio skills (and orchestration skills) mature.

Any other ideas ?

Dan

[This message has been edited by far_star (edited 08-30-2001).]