• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: GPO4 Bassoon problem

Share/Bookmark

GPO4 Bassoon problem

I'm fairly new to GPO (and to instrumentation in general) so I may have just run into a fact of life, but I'm having problems with a soft bassoon passage. Bassoon pp eighth notes with Q=120 lag way behind the other instruments' notes. The problem is much less at p and is unnoticeable at mp. I don't notice that the range has a significant effect, but these are A4, B4, and D4.

I assume that this is an artifact of the bassoon's attack characteristics, but doesn't a bassoonist accommodate? Is there something in GPO to tweak that approximates this accommodation (if there is such accommodation)? I've decided to just make the passage louder, but it seems like I shouldn't have to.

Pat

Re: GPO4 Bassoon problem

Quote Originally Posted by pokeefe View Post
    I'm fairly new to GPO (and to instrumentation in general) so I may have just run into a fact of life, but I'm having problems with a soft bassoon passage. Bassoon pp eighth notes with Q=120 lag way behind the other instruments' notes. The problem is much less at p and is unnoticeable at mp. I don't notice that the range has a significant effect, but these are A4, B4, and D4.

I assume that this is an artifact of the bassoon's attack characteristics, but doesn't a bassoonist accommodate? Is there something in GPO to tweak that approximates this accommodation (if there is such accommodation)? I've decided to just make the passage louder, but it seems like I shouldn't have to.

Pat
    Hi, Pat

Sounds like you must be using a notation program. There are so many special challenges notation users face when they're wanting a good recording as well as nice looking print outs.