• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: What software for composing to film?

What software for composing to film?

Hey there everyone,

I have been a long time ProTools user, and now I'm getting into the realm of writing music for film and video. ProTools is a little lacking in this area, so I am wondering what software is most commonly used to write midi music and sync it to video.

I have been using Reaper, and while it seems to do pretty well with the midi aspect, the video playback is not working well for me. The few videos I have tried to playback within Reaper have all made the program playback very choppy, and makes it unusable. Are any of you using Reaper for video work?

I know that some people are using Digital Performer. I have never used this program before. Does it allow you to play back a video within the program?

For those of you composing to video, do you have your audio program play back the video, or do you have a separate program play back the video, and if you do that, how do you sync it up?

I am at the point where I'm not too concerned with my ability to get the sounds I want, but I don't know the best way to get everything to actually work when it comes to watching the video and writing the music along with it.

I would appreciate any advice I can get. Thanks!

Re: What software for composing to film?

MAC or PC?

Are you using PT 8? They made some fairly significant enhancements to the MIDI aspects of the program for this version and it seemed to me (at a brief perusal) that it had become a contender for film work.