• Register
  • Help

Topic: "Solo duplicate"

Share/Bookmark

"Solo duplicate"

In the GPO4 strings some of the solo instruments are marked "duplicate". What does this imply? If it is truly a duplicate of the (non-duplicate) solo instrument, why would I pick it rather than multiple instances of the solo instrument? Sorry if this is a stupid question; I'm pretty new to GPO, and don't see any reference to this in the doc.

Pat

Re: "Solo duplicate"

Quote Originally Posted by pokeefe View Post
    In the GPO4 strings some of the solo instruments are marked "duplicate". What does this imply? If it is truly a duplicate of the (non-duplicate) solo instrument, why would I pick it rather than multiple instances of the solo instrument? Sorry if this is a stupid question; I'm pretty new to GPO, and don't see any reference to this in the doc.

Pat
    Hello, Pat

Your post made me curious, so I had to go take a look at my GPO, since I don't recall any instruments being designated as "duplicate."

And now that I've looked specifically at the solo string instruments, I still don't see any of them labeled as "duplicate"----?

So I really don't know what you're talking about.

In GPO, there's something to observe about the "player" instruments, but this is explained thoroughly in the manual--"Players" are not soloists, but simpler, less complex samples which are derived from the much larger (file-wise) soloists, so one doesn't want to use Players with the same number as the soloists those samples are derived from since phasing can result. If one is using soloist #1 of any instrument, in order to construct an ensemble of instruments of the same type in conjunction with it, the "player" instruments with different numbers are the ones to use.

Is that what you're talking about?--in which case the word "duplicate" is your own terminology?---because I've never seen that specific word in the menus of any of GPO's several incarnations. But perhaps you were referring to the Players.