• Register
  • Help

Topic: JABB horns, settings

JABB horns, settings

Hello - I'm new to JABB and I have an issue/question. I've noticed (although not every single time) if I assign mutes to the ks horns at the beginning of a tune, but then the last half of the tune is open, they don't always seem to reset when i go back to the top. Same true for volume, sometimes it seems like the horns disappear...I tend to think I'm just doing something wrong, or hearing it wrong -- but wonder if anyone knows any tricks that you need to do or something to reset when going back to the beginning?? I'll keep messing around....

Thanks. Bob

Re: JABB horns, settings

Are you working in a sequencing program or a notation program?

Either way, I generally set the KS switches to what I want at the beginning and at the end of the instruments last note even if the start is the default setting. That way, if I stop at a point before the end or go back to some point early in the piece I will not have the wrong KS selected.

Does that make sense?

[Music is the Rhythm, Harmony and Breath of Life]
    "Music is music, and a note's a note" - Louis 'Satchmo' Armstrong

An important thing to remember here is that sequencers don't "chase" keyswitches. In other words, wherever you press start, the keyswitch instrument will play in whatever articulation it was last playing in, wherever in the song that was. My solution is to place a repeated keyswitch throughout the song, maybe one per measure, or just not use keyswitched instruments at all - load the individual articulations into separate tracks.

Suburban NYC

Hi Bob,

Yeah, there's a few ways to do this; I use a modified version of what Raweber mentioned first.

I copy all keyswitches AND at least a single cc1 value (volume) per track to the beginning of each new section in my arrangement (I.E., every 8, 10, 12 bars or so).