• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Suggestions for GPO 5

Share/Bookmark

Suggestions for GPO 5

With all due respect I have some suggestions that IMVHO would put GPO heads and shoulders above any other sample set.

1. Improve microtonal support - the current implementation seems to be a 1:1 correspondence with midi note number. Thus when I use 31 notes per octave my instrument has a tremendously smaller range. Kontakt and Dimension Pro also have this problem --- BUT Pianoteq has solved this problem. I'm not a programmer so I can't say exactly how - but this would make GPO the microtonalists #1 orchestral choice.

2. Beethoven is great - but I'm a 20th / 21st century composer - I can't really do Shostakovich because string harmonics are not represented. That seems to be a common performance technique.

3. Other extended techniques - I'd love to have the ability to call up bowing below the bridge, bow against body knocks, slaps against instrument body, flute (and other woodwind) multiphonics, Choir non-verbal vocalizations (ta, tik, shhh, etc) would be great too. Not necessarily a lot - but some samples would be great.

I say these things with respect because value in money and hard drive space GPO is the #1 choice in my book.

Also, this is with great respect toward the current problems the Garittans are dealing with.

I'm suggesting these things because if no one ever does it is certain not to ever happen.

Gary, if you read this I hope things for your wife and you work out quickly for the best. All of you have done a great deal to advance the music of so many by making a quality sample set affordable. I thank you.

Chris Vaisvil

Re: Suggestions for GPO 5

Welcome Chris!

Quote Originally Posted by vaisvil View Post