• Register
  • Help

Topic: How much more work is needed?

Share/Bookmark

How much more work is needed?

Hello, all.

Before you listen to the following file, i must first introduce myself.

My name is Colin Malone and, although i have a digital workstation, i know very little in the way of music production.
    I have been using 'FL Studio' for the past four years (on and off) but have never finished a composition in any genre, be it pop, electric, house, rap or classical.
    I've often wondered what it must feel like to actually sit and listen to a completed piece of music after working so hard on it.

Well, today i finished (i think) something that i have kept on my hard drive and kept going back to for almost two years.

Knowing very little about the way music is put together, i have very strong doubts whether this is as good for you to listen to as it is for me.

I don't play any instruments, not knowing how to play one, but i do have a midi keyboard controller which i use just for auditioning synths which i have either purchased or downloaded for free from the web so, all notes were inserted into the piano roll using the mouse.

So, with all that in mind, could you please let me know if this sounds ok?

If the mix needs attention, please tell me where.

Oh well, i hope you like it, it's Khachaturian's 'Masquerade Waltz'.

EDIT: oops, GPO4 used.

http://www.box.net/shared/sla2dsa2ad

Re: How much more work is needed?

The composition itself is great - cheerful and joyous! You could add some reverb, though, to spice it up! And also: perhaps the strings stood out a bit too much, I mean the 'balance' between instruments might need some work? Otherwise - great stuff!
    'Music is like this pure thing that exists for its own sake, just to make something perfect..' ~ Ephram Brown

Thanks for the feedback, Brindle.

So, thats reverb and mixing...will get onto that, asap.

Thanks again .

Scar.