• Register
  • Help

Topic: first go at this sort of stuff...

Share/Bookmark

first go at this sort of stuff...advice?

it's my first try at an actual orchestrated anything. what would make this better? any advice/constructive criticism is welcome.

http://www.box.net/shared/nk2r8sg7f1

tia, and cheers!

kell

Re: first go at this sort of stuff...

Hi Kell & Welcome!

I wouldn't say advice or criticism but some friendly opinions based on your work:

... re-verb. Definitely need some more re-verb.

Also more counterpoint. It seemed that most of the time instruments were moving in unison.

And expansion; hope you spend more time on developing this work.

A very great start for sure!
    Would like to hear more from you.

M
    "...Wiktor's a Jekyll-Hyde personality..." - Lycos Music
    http://www.miserymadebeautiful.com

Welcome to Northern Sounds Kell!

Not bad,,,.... not bad at all!
    Dan

Perfect!!! Thanks so much Michael, that's just the sort of insight i was looking for. I had to chuckle when you mentioned needing more reverb...I'm pretty much a notorious reverb freak, so you exposed a rare moment of restraint!

Insofar as the counterpoint, i'd hoped i'd dealt it at least a glancing blow with the piccolo/flute/staccato viola figure against the moving bass. Were you thinking more of that sort of thing? The same figure is applied to the crescendo, but modifications due to conflicts with other parts really seem to hinder the impact. That's been a major challenge for me. of course burying everything in harmonies probably isn't helping the clarity, either. so much fun new stuff to play with, though!