• Register
  • Help

Topic: OT-Hi there

Share/Bookmark

OT-Hi there

everybody hibernating? Or waking up very slowly from hibernation? Less messages, hardly any new compositions, no chat sessions, no news from the Garritan front, not even a report how the NAMM was....

Wake up guys

Raymond

Re: OT-Hi there

Quote Originally Posted by Raymond62 View Post
    everybody hibernating? Or waking up very slowly from hibernation? Less messages, hardly any new compositions, no chat sessions, no news from the Garritan front, not even a report how the NAMM was....

Wake up guys

Raymond
    I'm new with GPO but I'll kick it off.
    I only had about an hour yesterday to start messing around with GPO 4 (in Sonar 8.3.1) but noticed the volume is very low and that velocity makes no difference at all.
    I know I need to RTFM (and I will) but is that normal?

Raymond, in my case, I am a VERY slow worker. I'm a terrible perfectionist when I am composing. It can take me a year to finish a 3-minute long piece for two instruments.

And spring time, for me, is the busiest time of the year, it is when I start hiring musicians for the music festival of which I am music director, and working on concert programs, hunting for subsidies/grants/sponsors, etc...

Quote Originally Posted by GRB53 View Post
    I know I need to RTFM (and I will) but is that normal?
    Yes, you must... but at the other hand the text is very boring, you will fall asleep while reading, for sure.

In GPO AND SONAR you must do the following:

a. GPO is ModWheel driven and with drawing CC#1 in Sonar you can add the volume/expression to instruments, which adds some extra volume;
    b. velocity is just the initial attack at the beginning of the note and doesn't really nothing else. A low velocity starts the note very softly and a higher velocity makes it "jump" in;