• Register
  • Help

Topic: Organizing Your Giga Drive...Tips Appreciated

Share/Bookmark

Organizing Your Giga Drive...Tips Appreciated

I posted a similar message in USER TIPS, but in case some of you don\'t go there that might have good advice, let me ask here as well.

I\'ll be getting GIGA in about a week and am wondering what the most efficient way of organizing the drive is. If I create separate folders for say, brass, guitars, violins, celli, etc, that might be well and good but then if one creates a setup that uses patches from each of those folders, now you have the patches stored twice on the drive. How do you guys find the best way to work re this subject? Any tips to the newbie here are greatly appreciated.

Re: Organizing Your Giga Drive...Tips Appreciated

It\'s simpler than you think! Because its a computer, you don\'t have to worry about the samples being duplicated. You can put all your strings in a string folder, and simply access them that way. Or you can use the Quicksound thing, which I ignore. If you create a performance using sounds from various folders, the computer knows where they came from and does not resave the samples, ever! I tend to put an entire library in one folder and put that in a general folder of that genre. ( for example I have a folder called strings which has a bunch of folders in it. (AO, KIRK HUNTER, GARRITAN, ULTIMATE STRINGS, ROLAND etc.)

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial\">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Nick Phoenix: