• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Adagio Doloroso for String Quartet

Share/Bookmark

Adagio Doloroso for String Quartet

Adagio Doloroso for String Quartet
    http://www.soundclick.com/player/sin...songID=8887472

This is my first attempt to get beyond mid-19th century sound.
    Not terribly successful in the composition and too successful in sound production. In fact, some of it sounds like no instruments known to mankind in any century.

A "good" example is (what should be) the viola at about 4:48. That's the GPO4 Viola KS Solo. Any idea what I can do to make it sound more like a string instrument?

I think the vibrato is a bit too much throughout, but as I recall, there's nothing I can do about that. Am I remembering correctly?

I also have problem with balance. I have the 'cello part cut back quite a bit but it always stands out. Maybe that's just the way I've composed it, but from looking at the score I would not expect that of the 'cello any more than the other instruments. Is it common for the GPO 'cello to have to be cut way back in a string quartet, trio, etc?

Pat

P.S. I've already made some minor changes since I posted this 3 hours ago. But nothing that fixes the problems I mentioned.

Re: Adagio Doloroso for String Quartet

Many changes since I first posted this. I expanded the 2nd them and turned it into sort of sonata form (if you ignore key relationships). There are a lot of dynamic changes and some tempo changes that I hope make it sound more realistic.

There are still some very odd sounds coming from the viola. A really prominent example is at 5:14. That's the same one that used to be at 4:48 as mentioned in my original post.

Pat

Hello Pokeefe,