• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 7 1234 ... LastLast

Topic: Getting A Realistic Sound

Share/Bookmark

Unhappy Getting A Realistic Sound

Hi

I am an experienced musician but relatively new to using computers to produce music.

I have Sibelius 5 and various Garritan sound libraries (Personal Orchestra 3, Concert and Marching Band) running under the Kontakt 2 player.

While some of the sounds sound fine (percussion and keyboard instruments particularly, for example) I am very disappointed with the quality of sound I am getting for the many other instruments, especially brass instruments. These often sound little better than the inbuilt general midi instruments.

Is there a comprehensive beginner's tutorial somewhere that explains how to set up my software to get the best realistic sounds out of such samples?

Re: Getting A Realistic Sound

There used to be some tutorials linked to the main garritan.com page, but I haven't been able to find them for a while (since they started updating their web design). Maybe a moderator can point us in the right direction.

Anyway, as far as realism goes, I suggest using the project sam brass samples (GPO4) and/or the brass overlay patches. Use the brass overlays with the solo samples to create a thicker sound; it really helps to bring out the brass quality of the solo samples.

Also, don't forget to tweak the two variable controllers (those seem to add a nice nuance to the sound) as well as the mod wheel and attack data. Typically, if I have something that sound too synthetic, I try to tweak the attack levels and the mod wheel.

One last thing, and I apologize if this is something you're already aware of, but be sure to use just the right touch of reverb. The aria player has built in reverb (via send knobs) or you can use your own reverb vst. Nothing will sound that good if it has the room sucked out of it, so add some reverb and you may be surprised on how close you get to the real deal.