• Register
  • Help

Topic: I need help understanding/choosing piano software instrument

Share/Bookmark

I need help understanding/choosing piano software instrument

Hi everyone,

this is my first post. I'm new to software sample libraries (not even sure I'm using the terminology correctly...), having always played using just the onboard sample of my now very old and outdated Roland RD-500 digital piano.

I need some help understanding how these software instruments work (e.g., the Garritan Steinway instruments available for download); what I can do with them; what other software (if any) I need to "run" them on my PC, etc.

My most immediate use for them (if this is possible) would be to re-record some hundreds of MIDI files of my performances that I've recorded over recent years. So far the only versions I have of these use the very limited onboard piano sounds of my old RD-500. Is it possible to generate CD-quality recordings of these files just using one of these downloadable software instruments? Would I run into problems with the articulation, note duration etc. on these files, given that my performances were based on the limitations of the RD-500 samples I was listening to while recording them?

Also, which library/libraries might suit me best? My style is mostly jazz-influenced improvisation, with minimalist/experimental/atonal inflections (think Keith Jarrett solo stuff, The Necks (great Oz piano trio), etc.), although I do love the sound of the classical Steinway, Kawai and Yamaha concert grands.

Finally, is it also possible to run these libraries "live" from my old Roland RD-500? Would there be any advantages in getting a newer DP or other sort of keyboard controller? (This wouldn't be for live gigs, just for my own listening, while recording new MIDI files for later editing.)

Hoping there's someone reading this who can help me with these sorts of questions

Many thanks!

Re: I need help understanding/choosing piano software instrument