• Register
  • Help

Topic: Problem with GPO4 dynamics?

Problem with GPO4 dynamics?

I use GPO4 as a plugin for Sibelius 6. A few weeks ago I noticed that some dynamics marking in scores were not playing back correctly. I reported this to Sibelius, and was eventually told:
    I asked one of our developers to look into this, and I'm afraid this looks very much like a bug in GPO4. It seems as though GPO is unreliable in volume when switching legato on and off – remove the slur and the problem goes away.
    Is this a known problem? Something causing CC#1 to be ignored or misinterpreted? I'm pretty new to Sibelius but so far I haven't seen them point fingers at other products.

If this is a know problem, does it involve just legato? I found another place that did not involve a slur (which gets translated into legato control plus overlapping notes) but did involve just the opposite - staccato. I can no longer locate that one - I may have accidentally fixed it - but I'm pretty sure it was for a KS solo string of some sort. Not much in common with the 2 problems except "return to normal" - the CC#1 problem happens following some slurs (not all) and some staccatos (again, not all).

Re: Problem with GPO4 dynamics?

I've got confirmation from Sibelius support that the problem involves GPO4 legato control. I (and they) do not know if it effects anything other than solo strings.

Sibelius support has requested that further questions relating to this problem be directed to Garritan support, but I'm having trouble locating it. I see a "Support" link on the Garritan web site but don't see any way to report or inquire about bugs. All I can find is this forum.

Is Garritan support still collecting info relating to this bug?