• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Considering 64bit

Share/Bookmark

Considering 64bit

With Omnisphere & Trilian being so hungry, I'm considering changing my pc spec from Win XP with 4Gb to Win 7 with "lots more memory" & 64 bit.

My current soundcard doesn't support 64 bit yet, although it is due for release shortly (shortly being manufacturers speak for light years usually).

So can anyone give me some advice on soundcards that are currently supporting 64 bit please - PC only - I don't want to convert to Mac as well!

If you are running windows 7 & 64 bit, let me know of any pitfalls or problems too if you have time.

Thanks
    Neil B
    Pentium 4 PC Windows XP Home 32 bit 3.6 Ghz, Omnisphere, Stylus RMX, Trilian, Kontakt 3, GPO 3, EWQLSC, Scope Pulsar II, Cubase 4.5

Re: Considering 64bit

You can't go wrong with RME.

I've been running XP64 for a couple of years now and Windows 7 for the last 3 months (on a different machine). I'm still using Nuendo 32bit though, because I need to be able to use Quicktime, and Apple's software coders haven't read the chapter on 64bit Windows coding in the manual yet. ;>)

D

I'll second the recommendation for RME. I've been using it on a Vista 64 Ultimate platform. Haven't had any issues with it. Plus it sounds MUCH MUCH better than the M Audio card I was using before.

- Gavin
    Gavin Lake

Been using RME with Cubase 5 Win 7 system for a few months and it really works great. If you can afford it, go with a Pro system builder, you'll avoid headaches later.
    Intel - Core i7 920 2.66GHz Quad Core 12Gig DDR3 1HD - 500GB for system 3HD - 1TB Seagate Sata II for audio and samples RME Multiface II Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit Cubase 5 64 bit Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, EWQLSO Gold with Close Mics, QL Choirs, Gypsy, SD1, SD2 Pro, QL Pianos Gold, QL RA, Fab Four, Ministry of Rock, Reaktor, Memphis Horns, Ethno World II, Garritan Strings

Thanks for the quick feedback folks.