• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Post Moved From 'MIDI' For Better Exposure

Post Moved From 'MIDI' For Better Exposure

Hello, my name is James and I am brand new to this forum, as I recently purchased Garritan Personal Orchestra 4.

A bit about myself:

I've been a professional musician since 1983, mainly doing piano & vocal, but also being in 3 two man bands.

I now play several instruments and have learned all about MIDI sequencing in 1997. I'm pretty comfortable with MIDI now, and have a number of MIDI sequences done, including editing them on a stand-alone sequencer - the Roland MC-50 MKII.

With one of my sound modules, [Roland SE-1 STRINGS], I could program RPN & NRPN messages 98, 99, 100, & 101 to have some nice long release/decay tails on some of my string parts using that sound module.

However with GPO 4, these do not cross over when recorded into my Digital Audio Workstation.

From what I can see so far, my only real options are Control Change 21 and possibly 17 using GPO 4.

Has anyone else run across this and does anyone know if I have any other options for this within GPO 4?

I'm using SONAR 8.5 as my DAW host.

I know I can do envelopes such as CC 72 and 75 [release & decay] on some other string patches [TTS -1], but I tried this with Sonar & GPO 4 to no effect.

Otherwise I'm quite impressed with GPO 4 so far.

Thank you for your help,

Re: Post Moved From 'MIDI' For Better Exposure

The main idea is that you "draw" the envelopes yourself using CC1. It directly controls the volume and timbre of the patch. You can get a decay by starting high(ish), and drawing a line to 0. The longer the line, the longer the decay. It sounds very natural (to me).