• Register
  • Help

Topic: Video Clips for a Beginner To Practice With

Video Clips for a Beginner To Practice With

I'm an aspiring soundtrack composer looking for clips to practice with. I'd like to know how to get hold of video clips that have dialog/foley/effects but no soundtrack? Can't imaging where I could find something like that, any ideas? Very difficult to pull off DVDs, esp for any kind of action scenes.

Smile Re: Video Clips for a Beginner To Practice With

Because of the legal issues, studios don't release those unless there are reasons such as bonus features for DVD/Blue-Ray.

With that stated, I found that one of my friends did practice scoring using "Cast Away" featuring Tom Hanks. The middle section of the movie is completely music free to express "realness," and I think it is successfully done. But you could use that section, as my friend did, to practice scoring imagining the situation that the audience at pre-screening did not like that no-music direction, and wanted more music!!!

The other direction you could take is that use animation, and create every sonic materials from the scratch including dialog, SE and BGM. You will learn a lot by doing this. You might realize where your skills lack.
    Kentaro Sato (Ken-P)

Re: Video Clips for a Beginner To Practice With

..... or rip deleted scenes from DVD bonus features & try scoring those. They generally have no FX and no music. It's a great exercise.

Pittsburgh, PA 15206 USA

Public Domain Films ... 2 sources I know of.

There are quite a few that have long stretches of dialogue without music.
    One in particular that I remember is called "Suddenly".
    It's an early Frank Sinatra Film - Drama.

And other is "Cyrano" ... particularly the dual scene near the beginning.
    No music but excellent dialogue to score around.

I'm sure you can also find others.

Cologne, Germany