• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: "Requiem" featuring RequiemGreets.

Share/Bookmark

"Requiem" featuring Requiem

Greets.

First off - great job, and a tip of the hat to Tonehammer for this library. As yet, I have composed just one demo with Req, but already I feel it was worth every penny. Definitely met my expectations. More on that in a bit. Every lib has it's strengths, and every lib has it's weaknesses, and Req is no different, but so far, it appears that the weakness to strength ratio is small. Excellent sound quality - having worked as an audio engineer for many years, and knowing what sounds good and what doesn't, and having done many recordings (some very good, some not so good), I can confidently say that this was recorded extremely well, and that excellent recording techniques (mics/mic placement/etc.) were used. Applause there.

Secondly - what I did here is something that I have never done before - write for samples that I did not have in my posession, and base my compositional work on what I was expecting the samples to sound like - which in this case, was based on what the Req demos sounded like. Here is where Req met expectations. Based on those demos, I expected Req to sound a certain way, and I expected to be able to do certain things with the lib. And I was. I simply sat down and composed for the orchestra, envisioning what the Req choirs would sound like - what I wanted them to sound like - and just went with it. I was tempted to use EWQLSC as a base, so that I could get a ballpark guesstimate of what Req might sound like - but opted not to. I wanted to go off of what I heard in my head only. Now again, I did that based not on what I thought I might be able to get out of a real choir, but what I thought I might be able to get out of Req - based on the demos. Very, very happy with the result here. Also, kinda proud of myself, if I may say so. Save for the length of the beginning (string pad), nothing about this peice changed onc