• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: The Final March

Share/Bookmark

The Final March

Hi all,

I'm new to the forum (first post) - so I hope I'm not being cheeky, but I thought a good way to introduce meself is to accompany that introduction with one of my pieces of music.

I'm a pianist, but have always aspired to writing grander music for a full orchestra. Of course, now with todays sample libraries and other great composer software am I able have a go and get some results.

The title of the piece is 'The Final March' - and the link is

http://www.gamesofcthulhu.com/music/the_final_march.mp3

(note I sometimes get choppy playback from the browser - if that happens please save the file and listen in your usual music program if you don't mind)

This is basically my first complete orchestral piece. I used:
    Garritan GPO 4.2 (notation instruments)
    Finale 2010

I aimed for a very dynamic playback result from finale (I find it quite amazing really) - and used every garritan trick I could get from the manual to produce what I hope will be the first of many pieces.

My main influences range from Rachmaninov, John Williams (the film composer) and Ennio Morricone. I think you'll hear a distinctly Morricone influence near the end of my piece.

Hope you like it and thanks for listening. I'm off to listen to some of the great pieces in this forum now...

Thumbs up Re: The Final March