• Register
  • Help

Topic: In search of good vst pads

Share/Bookmark

In search of good vst pads

Hello,

I would like to find a vst that has a variety of good pad sound presets. I purchased Reaktor 5 a while back when it was on blowout for this purpose, but unfortunately all the presets for "pad" sounds are extremely distracting and are not simple, consistent, subtle textures. I want sounds that could be tastefully layered under a piano for instance.

I am not good at programming synth vsts, and I don't want to have to learn to - I'd just like something that has good presets. On any stage piano I've ever owned, the "pad" section contained several subtle, consistent pad textures. I was really surprised that pretty much all of Reaktor's "pad" presets sounded like they belonged in a sci-fi movie or in a techno song.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

-Eric

Re: In search of good vst pads

thats an easy answer-get Omnisphere.
    Its full of greatsounding pads. from warm to shimmering and from subtle to animated.
    There is an abundance of superb sounding multisamples from classic synth like Oberheim, Jupiter 8 and Juno 60 and the like that you can layer til the cows come home.
    The perfect magic carpet ride!

i'm not sure what presets you're referring to with reaktor, since it's more of a shell for many different synths (each with their own presets). have you dug through the user library on the NI website yet? you can even search 'pads' and read descriptions to select instruments that might be up your alley. reaktor is almost limitless, so i'd bet there's something that has what you need.

Spectrasonics Omnisphere always has a pad im thinking of theirs lots of very gentel pads and you can mess with the patches anyway you want or layer them till you get what your after or mess with the velocity curve so they stay in the background.

Quote Originally Posted by EricH View Post
    Hello,