• Register
  • Help
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Topic: Free mini effects library - 'Shhh'

Share/Bookmark

Free mini effects library - 'Shhh'

I have no idea if anyone will actually find it useful. I created this just to test some techniques and to play with some script ideas I had. 'Shhhh' is a sound effects library intended to add realism to orchestral performances (well... probably over-exaggerated realism as I have no actual knowledge or experience when it comes to this stuff - if anyone wants to chip in and help out with the library, feel free).

Currently it contains three instruments, Breath, Human and Page turn.

Breath randomly plays breath sounds depending on the notes played on the MIDI channel it's sitting on. Load the instrument and set it to the same channel as a woodwind/choir/etc. instrument. When Legato passages end, or a sufficiently long note is played, a breath-in sound will trigger. The length of the breath in depends on how long the instrument was played for.

Human plays random 'human sounds' during an instrument playback. It can be put on its own channel if you just wish to have ambient sounds (hold down the lowest C-2 note), or it can be placed onto the same channel as a MIDI instrument that's being played. When this is done, the instrument randomly plays quiet clinks, jangles and finger presses/clicks depending on whats being played. You can configure how rowdy the orchestra is (dynamic mode will cause more sound to play when more notes are played frantically) and pan it to different sections. Sounds can also be manually played with C#-2 to E-2.